Connect with us


‘Suicide Squad 2’ Enlists Director Gavin O’Connor

The search is over! Warner Bros. and DC Entertainment have finally locked down a director for Suicide Squad 2. The sequel to their 2016 DC Extended Universe hit will be helmed by Gavin O’Connor (Warrior, The Accountant). The studio had previously sought after filmmakers such as Guy Ritchie (Sherlock Holmes), Mel Gibson (Hacksaw Ridge), Daniel Espinosa (Safe House), and Jaume Collet-Serra (The Shallows) before landing O’Connor for the gig.

Adam Cozad (The Legend of Tarzan) and Anthony Tambakis (Warrior) have penned the screenplay, based on a treatment by Zak Penn (Ready Player One). As production has now been pushed from Spring 2018 to Fall 2018, O’Connor is expected to oversee the next rewrite. Actors Will Smith (‘Deadshot’), Margot Robbie (‘Harley Quinn’), Jared Leto (‘The Joker’), Viola Davis (‘Amanda Waller’), Joel Kinnaman (‘Rick Flag Jr.’), Jai Courtney (‘Boomerang’), Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje (‘Killer Croc’), and Karen Fukuhara (‘Katana’) are all currently expected to return.

Suicide Squad 2 is currently without a release date, but some sort of 2020 debut seems likely at this point. It will be followed by a series of spin-offs that could ultimately includes David Ayer’s Gotham City Sirens, John Riqua & Glenn Ficarra’s Joker & Harley, and Todd’s Phillips’ recently-announced Joker prequel.

Click to comment

More in News