Connect with us


‘The Mark of Zorro’ Lands On The National Registry

The Library of Congress has once again chosen another 25 films to be preserved for all time as part of the National Film Registry.  What made the cut this time?  Among many other things, Fred Niblo’s The Mark of Zorro (1920) made the grade.  The first adaptation of Johnston McCulley’s The Curse of the Capistrano, it was the inaugural film appearance of the swashbuckling hero Zorro.  The film starred Douglas Fairbanks in the titular role, as was as Noah Beery, Marguerite De La Motte, and Robert McKim.

While I prefer the 1940 remake starring Tyrone Power and Basil Rathbone, the Fairbanks version is nonetheless wonderful and certainly worthy of preservation.  If you’re curious as to what else landed on the registry this year, the full list lies below in alphabetical order…

  • Being There (1979)
  • Black and Tan (1929)
  • Dracula (Spanish) (1931)
  • Dream of a Rarebit Fiend (1906)
  • Eadweard Muybridge, Zoopraxographer (1975)
  • Edison Kinetoscopic Record of a Sneeze (1894)
  • A Foot There Was (1915)
  • Ghostbusters (1984)
  • Hail the Conquering Hero (1944)
  • Humoresque (1920)
  • Imitation of Life (1959)
  • The Inner World of Aphasia (1968)
  • John Henry and the Inky-Poo (1946)
  • L.A. Confidential (1997)
  • The Mark of Zorro (1920)
  • The Old Mill (1937)
  • Our Daily Bread (1934)
  • Portrait of Jason (1967)
  • Seconds (1966)
  • The Shawshank Redemption (1994)
  • Sink or Swim (1990)
  • The Story of Menstruation (1946)
  • Symbiopsychotaxiplasm: Take One (1968)
  • Top Gun (1986)
  • Winchester ’73 (1950)
Click to comment


More in News